Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 28–33

    Monday 29th - Saturday 4th May

    4 de mayo, Australia ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Well, quite a lot to report now as I write this from Uluru & watch the footy with Kayo.
    Monday, I had lunch with a friend & John helped Jason with a few jobs in the garden.
    Tuesday, I drove from Kapunda to Adelaide and drove with my oldest brother Roger to the Adelaide airport to meet my twin brother Stuart from Melbourne. We had a wonderful day driving down Memory Lane to visit all the homes we lived in & around Adelaide since 1952 when we immigrated from England. It was the first time all 3 of us had been together since 2004 when Dad died. I have seen the boys separately on several occasions, but we haven't all been together. We reminisced and shared different memories.
    Wednesday was Roger's 80th birthday, and John and I met the family for a birthday lunch.
    Wednesday evening was spent repacking the van, having our last dinner with the family in Kapunda, and making sure we were ready to leave after Will and Bonnie had left for school.
    We left at 8am and passed through Port Augusta. We travelled 520kms to our first stopover at Lake Hart ( a salt lake ). Saw heaps of Emus, and lots of road kill on the way.
    There were about 20 caravans at Lake Hart.
    Left at 7am. on Friday to 11° and clear skies. Stopped in Coober Pedy for fuel & a couple of supplies. Fascinating place, but we've been a couple of previous trips, so we only stayed long enough to take a few photos. We did notice a lot more bigger mines than our last trip. The smaller man made mines are scattered for kms and resemble ant hills.
    Noticed a bit of water around and some green grass.
    Because some of the stations aren't fenced, there were quite a few sheep ( some with black faces ) grazing on the side of the road.
    Stayed at Marryat stopover after driving 680 kms. Big day for John, but he says he's fine when I ask if he would like me to drive.
    We were on our own at Marryat until a couple of cars & caravan came in late. We had a beautiful campfire and did a lot of stargazing. It was one of those perfect nights.
    This morning, we were on the road at 6.30am. 4° and freezing!! We drove the 393 kms to arrive at Uluru by 11.30am. Lots of wedge tailed eagles feeding on the roadkill today.
    The landscape is ever changing with low shrubs sometimes, then very flat, dry, bare looking terrain, then dense trees at times. The first thing you notice coming near Uluru is Mt Conner. People often think it's the "Rock"
    I did the obligatory washing, and after lunch, we set off to do some sightseeing of "The Olgas", ( old name). I can't spell the new aboriginal name) We walked to a lookout & took heaps of photos before driving to Uluru. It really is a magnificent sight and whilst we've seen it before, it never ceases to amaze us.
    Long day today so I don't think I'll finish watching the Eagles.
    John is already in bed.
    Sorry but I haven't mastered the captions! My twin brother is on the left, then me, then Roger 80.
    Leer más