Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Yorkshire adventure days 15-19

    February 26, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    Yorkshire adventure day 19

    After breakfast I was up and out as the warm sun came through melting the gentle frost from the night. I set off through the grounds of conyngham hall and gardens and along the river nidd heading towards nidd gorge and ripley viaduct. After the rains and floods from the weekend before the footpath was wet and sloppy which Sam enjoyed immensely. I arrived at a fork in the river with a floood defence. As it was wet and boggy I had the place to myself pretty much. So I ventured out to the flood island for a photo opportunity before heading up to the knaresborough greenway and over the viaduct into Riply.

    Riply is a strange place it’s a little tourist village situated in the grounds of what they call a castle but I’d say it’s more a grand stately home as it not particularly castle like other than the grand towers that stand as the entrance gateways
    In the courtyard is a selection of country shops, cafes and and a gin distillery where you can do gin making classes and tasting.

    Before walking the 5 miles back to the van I grabbed a famous ripely ice cream 🍨 for me and Sam. Sitting in the sun watching the world go by as sam inhaled the creamy treat.

    Heading back down the knaresborough greenway this time avoiding the boggy river section I headed back to the van in knaresborough getting back to town stopping at the worlds end pub just in time for the sun to set behind the castle and viaduct unfortunately not picturesque sky’s as I sat on the outside terrace overlooking the river.

    Yorkshire adventure days 17-18

    Day 17 stated off wet and windy so I let Sam out to roam around and do his business as I sat in the van mad a strong coffee put the radio on and did some reading plotting The next part of the journey.

    In the afternoon came some sun and with that I walked along the Leeds Liverpool canal towards Dobson locks at Apperley bridge. 2 locks dropping down to the canal below. And to my surprise a boaters facility block. I tried my key in the door and it was open. Back to the van I headed to grab my towel and sponge 🧽. As I needed to refill my water tanks I decided to drive to the locks and spend the night. I spent the afternoon trying to recalibrate the drone but it kept failing. I turned to social media for help and a top man named robin who was 30 min down the road in knaresborough offered the use of his laptop so I could do it hardwired.
    Knaresborough wasn’t on the list of places to visit originally but I had a search and it seemed an interesting place so I accepted his offer and plans to go the next day.

    Day 18

    Waking up to snow gently falling at Dobson locks I had a shower and headed towards robin in knaresborough. Spent the morning trying to calibrate the drone to no avail. The screen was to small (size does really matter 📐 ) with that I left robin to have day and headed to knaresborough itself. Id spotted a free parking place next to the river nidd that was walking distance to town.

    Knaresborough itself is an interesting place full of history with castles,caves,tunnels,viaducts all scattered between cobblestone streets and passageways. Lots of interesting antique and art shops some with murals showing the history of the area some of which are peoples front rooms converted and as you wonder round the shop their chatting to you from the kitchen.

    Yorkshire adventure day 15

    After waiting out 3 storms over the weekend and watching a digger float away and sink there was finally a break in the weather and managed to get out for some fresh air so moved out of Leeds town centre to the outskirts and visited Armley mill and industrial museum then Kirkstall Abbey and park across the road. Whilst I hade the drone up in the air I spotted a strange structure hidden in the woods so landed the drone and went to investigate. It turned out to be an commemorative archway built to welcome queen Victoria to Leeds in 1858. Then moved on to Rodley as I’d heard there’s a few others that are full time in vans parked next to the canal again unfortunately this time there no boaters facilities to use
    Read more