Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Program starts tomorrow!

    May 14 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Got up late today .. 3pm ... raining outside .. didn't do anything. Got a gyro again (got second stamp). I tend to lean towards safe choices when I get to decide my food options, fyi.

    Wasted the whole day .. should have been roaming around sight seeing.

    Or maybe not. I need to slow down. Kichhu paliye jachhe na. Dont need to rush all the time. Don't know why I do that. I might even come back next year for the same thing to Turin. It's ok. To not be rushed.

    Class start tomorrow. I think first day will be orientation with students. I have 24 for my class. Other class had 14. With 2 professor and staff member, Andrea (she has been doing this every summer for a while), it's 41 of us. I need to prepare a little for my class.

    But if it's just orientation, I should be ok, na? Just chill Arka!

    I also told the Math dept faculty that I will meet with them separately. The idea was to make friends in the politechnic, so it might help with my research activities too. Separate from this teaching program. I was very proud to think of that.

    I need to prepare that too .. they want me to give a talk explaining my work etc. Shit! But chill... Breathe.

    And it's raining outside. I hate rains. Makes me sad. Slept off early so I can get up early for breakfast (so Gabriella, the host , is happy) and meet students for orientation at 9 am! I haven't woken up at a normal time so far. 🤞

    Oh, I found a bike shop .. got my bike ready to ride. Inflated tires a little with my small pump to ride. Found a bike shop that Inflate tired nicely later. The guy didn't take money for the help with pumping air. So I bought a nice cute red bell for €3. And gave him my my other new bell that I got but didn't like. His name is Georgio. Chill young guy with a cool pointy mustache. Hipster types.

    Also had dinner with the 3 leaders. Me, Matt (Prof for other course), Andrea and Aa local faculty member who helps this program, Stefania Specchia. Ate dinner at Capannina. Fancy place. The dishes were amazing. But that I mean the shape of the plates mainly. Very unique styles of pottery. Good was good too. Stefania had raw meat dish .. that I tasted 😳. Like raw fish in sushi .. but beefs etc. Was ok. She also told me to go to St Maritz. It's in Swiss border and the train ride through Alps is very scenic. Will try going there this weekend from Milan. Tentatively that's the plan for weekend.

    Didn't plan anything for the weekend. No booking etc and no clear idea where to go or maybe not go anywhere. But that's least of my worries. Just prep for class today!
    Read more