Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 5 Deba

    April 22 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Found an angel in my coffee this morning (the little one was given to me by a friend to carry with me) so obviously it was gonna be a good day!
    Plenty of variety in the landscape; we were mostly more inland, but with frequent views of the sea behind trees and hills. Wind very chill. Didn't swim on arrival although it's the last day at the coast for days ... far too cold.

    I spied penguins! Can you?

    And sang in a fabulously resonant church, took lunch in a field of newly mown hay, found a type of hellebore I've never seen before, and petted an extremely appreciative dog that was lying in the road at risk of being run over.

    Two Japanese brothers (with Google translate) who were impressed that I have walked the Kumano Kodo before. Adrian from Ireland, twice PhD, house husband, and an intriguing story of friendship with a Japanese-French couple. Drank beer and shared peanuts with Xavier from Bordeaux, walking (very slowly!) with a 20kg pack which includes a tent. Spanish pilgrim with guitar (I was angling for a music session). Dinner with Fiorella and Sergio.
    Read more