Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 118

    Ciudad Perdida - we found the lost city!

    March 16, 2023 in Colombia ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Wow what an adventure! When I booked my trip to Brazil at the beginning of the year I really wanted to go to Peru. But the situation in Peru has been really tough right now.. it got a little better but still their are sometimes riots and especially Cuzco (the gateway to Matchu Picchu) has not been the safest lately. This is why i decided to change my plans and go to Colombia instead and wanted to now do the trek to the lost city Ciudad Perdida or how they actually call it Tyrona. It is 4 day hike through the jungle on which you have to carry your own clothes and sleep in hammocks or bunkbeds along the way. In the end we made it! But it was a 65 km demanding hike. I would say it was not as challenging as Torres del Peine but still difficult as you have to climb up hills and the walks are long and can also be in the afternoon sun (which is actually the hottest time of day).
    But we made it and we got so rewarded! This hike did not only show us our strengths, our weaknesses, but also the mental power we have and the strength inside. Everyone probably thought about giving up once but we had such a supportive group and together we all made it! Since in other groups some people had to be picked up early. To say the least I‘m so proud that Johanna and I made this hike together! And even though she probably wanted to kill me at times because it was really exhausting I‘m sure she will always remember this time when she conquered her fears and the desire to give up! Instead we were able to keep going and we’re rewarded not only by beautiful scenery along the way but also by the most incredible open space that lays right in the jungle and is the heart of the lost city.
    I also loved all the fruit we got to eat along the way. Their were so many fruit stops!
    Read more