Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 138

    „Sailing“ to Panama

    April 5, 2023 in Panama ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Oh what did I get myself again into… I guess I just seek discomfort! After some relaxing and recovering days in Cartagena I decided (don‘t know why?!🤦🏼‍♀️) to sail to Panama City! Yes sailing… on a boat with only 10 people.. The trip included being on the open sea for 3 days and then sailing around the picturesque San blas islands which belong to Panama.
    Well this trip was after all so different than I expected.. Haha now I can laugh about it but it was seriously 3 days of hell until we reached paradise. After crossing the Drake passage in Antarctica which is supposedly the most dangerous passage, having winds of 120 km/h and 8 m high waves I thought I had it all. But I definitely underestimated being stuck on a nutshell.. Wow I got so seasick.. even though I took medication. But luckily I was not the only one. Even the captain was struggling.. Being on his own boat for 20 + years this actually shows how rough the sea was at the time of our crossing. Even though the food on the ship was really good, fresh fish, fresh shrimp or other delicacies.. I was only able to eat half of it and I usually skipped breakfast.
    The trip was also so different because we were never truly sailing. Maybe because the captain was sick or he just didn’t want to sail, but in the end we only sailed for 1 h around one of the San blas island. But despite all of this.. it was all worth it to enjoy San Blas and I think the pictures speak for themselves. Apparently there are 365 islands that belong to San Blas! But all of them have a true Caribbean vibe and after being sick for so long the only thing we did was relax, read, spend time on the boat (when it was not moving haha) and just enjoy the beauty of nature! I have never seen such blue water in my life and we even got to see several sharks, rays and fish and amazing sunsets!
    Read more