Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 149

    Hiking 2 volcanoes in 2 days!

    April 16, 2023 in Guatemala ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Did I expect to do 2 volcano hikes🌋 in two days? No! What a rewarding challenge however! The first volcano was called Pataya. Again Kerry and I booked a tour and we went on a 1,5 hour hike up the volcano. On top we were even able to roast some marshmallows in the lava. Loved it! Luckily this tour was just one day and we did not need to carry all our things with us. As we thought the perfect hike to start. Little did I know how challenging the next two days would be. The Acatenango hike is the most known hike in the region and there are plenty of tours going there. I booked a tour through my hostel while Kerry booked a different tour. This time we would not tackle the hike together.. but we were in spirit with each other! For this hike you definitely needed some mental strength. After Torres del Paine, el Chaltén and Ciudad pertida I have hiked in so many different terrains ranging from lush forests to stones, fields.. and more than once I have shown myself what I can achieve. But this hike on volcanic sand, slippery, being a steep climb for roughly 5 hours including the altitude which went up to 3900 m and the cold was definitely a different type of struggle. So happy though that I made it! I also had girls around me which were equally as crazy and extreme. Can you believe most of these girls were Germans? It might be in our blood to seek the challenges.
    In the end I was able to hike both volcanoes 🌋 and even got up at 4 am to see the sunrise on top of the summit. What a breath- taking experience. I could not be more proud of myself for putting myself out there and once again proofing myself. Even if you struggle, even if you think about giving up.. you are so much stronger than you think and if you want you can achieve anything.
    Read more