Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 176

    Bacalar - carribean feeling in Mexico

    May 13, 2023 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    Bacalar - also called the Maldives from Mexico is definitely worth a visit! Even though this place what not initially on my list and also pretty far from everything else i really enjoyed my time there! The crystal clear water with its different shades of blue is just picturesque and the Lagunes are amazing to visit and just enjoy some time with friends or family! I got a recommendation for a bike ride from one of the hostel people in Mérida and really looked forward to the idea of being active, and hoping from one Lagune to the other! Little did I know that the way to get there was very exhausting because there was not exactly a bike lane and we all had to ride our bikes right next to a highway! Thankfully I didn’t have to do this craziness on my own, as I met two girls and a guy who were equally crazy and joined me on this adventure! Not to forget the girls and me were already pretty exhausted because we spend the whole morning stand-up paddling on the Lagune to see the sunrise! Which was amazing, but imagine doing a bike ride the same day for another 8 hours. I was just so tired once we came back. But it so was so worth it!
    Other than that I did not do much in Bacalar, just enjoyed the Lagunes, which is also the one thing you must do. In total I spend 3 days there and then took another „wonderful“ bus ride over 7 h to get to the harbor of canotes Valladolid.
    Read more