Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 205

    Back home in Antarctica - christchurch

    June 11, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    It was for so many reason the right decision to pick New Zealand as my final destination of my world trip. Not knowing beforehand that Christchurch is another gateway to Antarctica I coincidently booked a plane ticket to this part of the South Island. The plane going from Honolulu to Auckland was a little scary since we were mostly surrounded by water and in case of an emergency would not have any possibility to land. I don’t think I ever had such a weird feeling in my stomach on a plane which also did not change when we had turbulences 4,5 hours in and still 4,5 hours to go.
    But I made it safely to Auckland, stayed there for one night and then took a place directly to Christchurch, which is the biggest city on the South Island - little did I know at the beginning of this trip that I would visit this city 5 times in total.
    The first day in Christchurch I went to the Antarctic center and I loved it! They really wanted to make this experience as true as possible. Watching all these movies about this amazing place and talking to a lot of people there I just felt at home and actually felt like I experience the trip to Antarctica once again. Also I had the possibility to sign up to win a trip to Antarctica worth 35,000 dollars for two people so wish me luck :D
    They also have a room that simulates a snow storm in Antarctica which is pretty cool and pingu found a new friend called little blue. Christchurch itself is surprisingly a very modern and clean city. Most buildings don’t seem to be that old because they had a very bad earthquake in 2011 and it took a while to rebuild the whole city! I also had a look at the art gallery and enjoyed the botanical garden since Christchurch is also known as the garden city of New Zealand. Overall I had a great time here!
    Read more