Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Second Encounter with Mama & Calves

    May 29, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 43 °F

    By noon, the temp had risen to the low 40F range. Our work was done ... our tummies sated with a light meal. Time to go for a hike.

    We didn’t get far. As soon as we got on the Park Road we were stuck in a “moose jam.” Yup, it was mama moose and her calves, nibbling on twigs and such by the road ... after all, their name means “twig eater” in the Athabascan language. Despite all the cars vying to get a good look, mama was relaxed ... her ears perked up. Aaron, our bus driver yesterday, had pointed out that moose could care less about vehicles ... we definitely saw that today.

    Idiot that I am, in my desire to make sure I had at least a few good shots of the family before we moved on, I accidentally deleted all the photos I took with my camera ... grrrr! By then, the family was in the trees again! Luckily, Mui had taken some snaps and a video with his phone.
    Read more