Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 27

    Day 27 Ends With a Denali Moose

    29 mei 2021, Verenigde Staten ⋅ 🌧 46 °F

    It’s 10:00p. Mui’s fast asleep. I’ll join him as soon as I finish uploading this last footprint.

    The rain that’s been threatening all day has finally put in an appearance. I like the sound ... especially when I am abed ... I find it very soothing.

    So, obviously we’re back at the campground. But we wrapped up our day with another drive on the 15 miles of the Park Road open to private vehicles. What a difference from just a few days ago when we encountered only a few vehicles intermittently. In fact, there was a sign at the Savage River turnaround today that no parking was available. Not that we needed one anyway.

    It’s the Memorial Day long weekend, so I’m not really surprised at the crowds. Luckily, it’s peaceful here at the campground.

    The moose with which we ended the day isn’t at the campground, though. No, we saw it at about mile marker 10. It’s dewlap was more prominent and it had the beginnings of the antlers showing, so I think this was a bull moose ... but I didn’t get close enough to verify! In fact, this photo was taken through the car window ... safety first.
    Meer informatie