Satellite
Show on map
  • Extended!

    July 19, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 72 °F

    It took just 20 pages of reading this morning to jiggle our Australia plans.

    Yesterday, I downloaded an Australia eGuide from the library since neither Mui nor I have been able to find the one I purchased a few years ago. The file has seemingly up and vanished into the ether. Oh well.

    With a lovely morning inviting me to sit on the deck and read, I did just that. I didn’t get far in my reading, however, as it quickly became apparent that giving ourselves just a month to travel around Australia after disembarking Regatta was a mistake. The country/continent is huge and it takes time to get from one place to another. I mentioned my thinking to Mui. Before I could recommend that we extend the trip, he made the suggestion that we do so. Good to be on the same “travel page.”

    Deciding to extend the trip was easy. But that meant we had some logistics to re-think as well. Namely, our air arrangements.

    As it turns out, canceling and rebooking the flights was easy, too.

    In a matter of minutes after clicking the cancel button, the cost of the tickets was in Mui’s Mileage Plus account as a future flight credit. No penalties. No mess. No fuss.

    It was then just a matter of minutes to rebook our airfare using the future flight credit. Same 12 December departure from the US. But moving the return out by a month to 24 March.
    Read more