Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Highs and Lows

    December 8, 2019 in Sweden ⋅ 🌧 6 °C

    Not every day of a month-long trip can be amazing. Just like Liseberg's incredible Valkyria rollercoaster, which I rode 4 times today, a trip will always have its highs and lows.

    Day 2 in Göteborg began with a low, as my walking tour guide failed to show. Strolling around a city alone, in the wind and rain, not knowing which landmarks to spot, isn't quite so fun.

    I then returned to Liseberg to ride its fantastic coasters and wheels. Valkyria was one of the best I've ever ridden. The view from the Lisebergshjulet wheel was also top-notch and A Christmas Carol on Ice was a joy to behold.

    But, as a solo traveller surrounded by Christmas lights, couples, friends and families, I felt a tinge lonely, especially as I'd been with Sandra just 24 hours earlier. Hopefully the lows of today will only heighten the highs still to come, as I head north to Norway.
    Read more