Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    End of the Line

    December 12, 2019 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 3 °C

    I did it! I took the train all the way from Utrecht to the furthest point of the Norwegian railways - Bodø. (It just took me 3 weeks and 11 other cities 😂.) The town sits just above the Arctic Circle and tops Iceland as my most northerly destination.

    The journey from Trondheim to Bodø took 10 hours!! But it didn't feel that long because the Nordland Railway line was possibly the most beautiful I've ever ridden, winding through a genuine winter wonderland of mountains, snowy forests and frozen lakes. For all 5 daylight hours my eyes were glued to the window in amazement, imagining Elsa and Anna running through the pines.

    After arriving in Bodø I enjoyed some Norwegian hospitality (thanks again to Couchsurfing), as I joined a couple in their home for dinner and a couple of TV julekalendars!
    Read more