Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    First 24 hours at sea

    November 19, 2018, North Atlantic Ocean ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    We‘re starting fast. Sourmthwest. Wind 6-7. the waves are big. Too big for me and rolf. We get seasick. I have to throw up multiple times. I move into managing mode: lying down and sleeping a lot. Managing works although I will have this bad feeling for days. Iwan, Urs and Hansjörg have to do all the sailing up to now. They sometimes almost fall asleep.

    As the automatic windsteering device got broken in a crash a few weeks before the trip we have to sail 24/7 by hand.

    Iwan is the good soul of the boat and he is manning. The kitchen, cleaning and taking care of me. Iif I have to imagine an angel: Iwan!

    In the morning a big dolphin school welcomes us and the enjoy themselves playing around the boat. This catapultes Rolf right out of his seasickness. Me? I’m just excited- still feeling sick.
    Read more