Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Where to go?

    January 19, 2023 in the United Arab Emirates ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    I wanted to see something new within a range of 3 hours flight from Abu Dhabi.
    First choice was Saudi Arabia/Riyadh. I had checked the requirements and applied for an online visa. No replies for days: „send to embassy“ was and is the status.
    OK. Let’s go to Asserbeichan/Baku. Or just to the Oman? Go straight back home? Qatar?

    There were many websites promising a visa within minutes for Saudi Arabia. All fake. At the end I realized, you can get an visa on arrival. I had wasted 100 usd for nothing.

    But Saudi Arabia was confirmed! I had 30 minutes between the last meeting and dinner. The 3rd website worked and I managed to book a flight. Hotel was easy. Suddenly on GetYourGuide all the excursions were over 400 USD. Bravo. Trip advisor saved me and I had a trip to the edge of the world Friday afternoon.

    In the morning I wanted to have a relaxed breakfast, drive over to 10 min away airport and have a relaxed flight to Riyadh.

    Check in on the airline was a Desaster again. But I had to realize that I booked the flight from Dubai and not Abu Dhabi. Bravo.
    No breakfast and I wanted to take a car to Dubai. As there was a shuttle leaving I just jumped on it. What a mistake. It took us over 2 hours to Dubai and I missed the flight. On the way I tried to book me a new flight, trying it for 10 times, the app finally accepted my payment.

    2 hours Starbucks and some calls later, I am on the way to Riyadh. Seems i have forgotten how to travel. I certainly need more praxis again.

    Besides that it took ages to get the visa on arrival, that my luggage was gone and that I had chosen a hotel on tho other side of the very! big city, it is all good now :-)
    Read more