Satellite
Show on map
  • Studying Thai in Três Lagoas

    August 5, 2018 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    I have actually been studying Thai since March of this year. First I studied three different sources to learn the Thai alphabet: ThaiPod101’s Twenty-five lessons, then my teacher Kruu Wee’s own PDF explanation, and finally the book “Learn To Read Thai in 10 Days.” It was difficult to learn an alphabet where the vowels “decorate” the consonants on all four sides, instead of following the consonant dutifully. With repetition, it’s getting easier.

    Every day, my study routine is thus:
    1. Write all of the 44 consonants in their groups: High/Middle/Low. Then write the numbers 1-10.
    2. Re-memorize 15 pages of notes from my 6-week study stint last March-April, 2017.
    3. Read and memorize the material from Kruu Wee’s own course, which has very useful conversation patterns.

    It usually takes one hour to do this, if I manage to stay focused.

    HOWEVER, I just found out that Kruu Wee is ready to teach again (she just had baby Henry about 6 months ago) so I will really turn on the steam to learn to speak. Even though Thai has five tones, the Thai people I have met so far have understood what I am saying, even if I mangle the tones! (Chinese people could not do that, for some reason: the tone had to be exact.) This is very encouraging, but even so, I am strict with myself about the accurate tonal pronunciation. I have to admit that for four months, I have been doing the big NO-NO for me of effective language-learning: not speaking to native speakers. I commit that I shall schedule a lesson with Kruu Wee tomorrow, and สวัสดีค่ะภาษาไทย!! (Hello Thai!)
    Read more