Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Coast to Coast

    February 26, 2019 in Costa Rica ⋅ 🌧 22 °C

    As my northern visitors were winging their way back to the Great White North I was taking a bus then a series of shuttles across Costa Rica to the Caribbean coast.
    The trek took about 12 hours. After the first two hours ,as I climbed in elevation, it started to rain. I didn’t see the sun again for three days. This is the first rain that I have seen on the trip but it does fit since I was now in a rainforest area.
    Many differences mark my change of coasts. Besides the lush and dense green growth all around me now, the fauna , the people and the surf are all noticeably different.
    My BnB outside of Puerto Viejo was very comfortable . It was a forty minute walk to town which I did a few times (with raincoat) and I rented a bike to travel down the coast to visit the National Park in Manzanillo. Saw some great surfing while there along with various critters. Also visited the Jaguar Rescue Centre which heals/ raises injured/orphaned wildlife for reintroduction to the wild.
    Read more