Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Bemus Point, NY

    May 19, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Prologue

    It is time again to go to the Indy 500. Last year was excellent, as I did the whole two weeks. The May schedule is about two weeks. They have some rookie orientation practice, the Indy Grand Prix, a week of practice, two days of qualifications, more practice, and finally – the Indy 500! I could not do the two weeks this year, but I was able to do one week. The original plan was to bring a tent and camp for the week. On a lark, I looked at AirBnB. There was a place for $16 a night. I'm not expecting much.

    I got the Bronze Badge again this year. It allows me to go into the garage area and free parking. (except race day). I will get to walk around and, hopefully, meet some of the drivers. I really want to get a picture with Fernando Alonso!

    I am also looking forward to the Canon CPS room. I can go in and take out just about any Canon camera and lens for the day!! I'm going to love the 1DX and cannot wait to try it out!!!

    Fernando Alonso is skipping the Monaco Grand Prix. He has always wanted to race at Indianapolis. Since his F1 car is very noncompetitive, he has nothing to lose by skipping Monaco.

    It is shaping up to be an excellent time this week. I cannot wait to get there!!!!!
    Read more