Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Indinapolis, IN

    May 19, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 23 °C

    Day One – On the Road to Indy

    Camera:
    Canon EOS 7D MK II

    Lenses:
    EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
    EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

    I wanted to get to the practice called “Fast Friday.” This is the last full-day practice before qualifying. All of the will teams switch to qualifying setups and tune them before tomorrow. It starts at noon and I have seven hours of driving to get there!!!

    As much as I wanted to be packed and ready to go, I had to finish packing and loading the car. I finally left a half hour later than I wanted. I queued up some podcasts and started the drive. It was uneventful, until I got close to Indianapolis. I had been monitoring the weather for Speedway, Indiana every time I stopped. I knew there was a chance for rain, but hoped it would miss the track. About fifteen miles out, it started to rain – slowly at first. Then it just poured!! And it poured for about ten minutes. I thought that it would wash out Fast Friday. I was already thinking about going to my “hotel” rather than going to the speedway. I finally decided to go to the speedway to drop off some lenses at CPS and see what was happening.

    Just as I got to 30th Street, the rain tapered off and was finished right before I got to the speedway. I quickly grabbed my stuff and went to CPS. However, it was not going to be open until tomorrow!!!

    The sun was out and the track was drying. I did a quick tour of the garage area and went to the Press Box. The track was almost fully dry. By the time they put up the Green Flag to open practice again, there was two hours left for the cars. Before the rain, Sebastian Bourdais did a lap at 233.116 mph. After the rain, most were in the 230 to 231 mph range.

    I was sitting in the Press Penthouse (the old Press Box). In the olden days, reporters from newspaper all around the world would sit in this area and type their reports. Now-a-days, there is little interest in IndyCar racing in the news. Something bad must happen to a driver before it gets any coverage!! The Press Box has two rows of metal folding chairs in a level just below the Penthouse seats. It is a quiet area. No one seems to know it is here!!! It has excellent views of the front stretch and Turn 1!!

    The TV and radio had enclosed booths on the same level. Those are off-limits to attendees because they are still in use. Because of Fernando Alonso, there is increased interest from Spanish and other European countries.

    After I left the track, it was time for dinner and shopping. The prices for burgers and sandwiches is getting too expensive. Last year, I packed my lunch every day. I got all the supplies I needed for a few days.

    Now it was time to check out my “hotel.” As I pulled up, the neighborhood looked sketchy. The lawn hadn’t been mowed yet this year or the last!!! I got the key and went in. Hmmmm, the living room was a mess. The sign on the wall tells the occupants to clean once a week. I don’t think it has been cleaned in a few years. I peeked into the kitchen and did not want to enter. I went upstairs and looked at my room. It was the only clean room in the house!!! Now, I need to be fair. I am only paying $16 a night and I was told it was college student housing.

    My daughter Mary is getting college student housing in Manhattan this summer. I made a bet as to who had the worst place. I think I won. She is disputing that. I will take pictures tomorrow and we will settle it!!!
    Read more