Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Banff pie and Maryanne Pollock's pastry

    May 7, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    Lunch in Banff today. A little Cafe called Coyote's. I chose the Pecan pie. I've both made it and ordered it a few times in Australia over the years. Caramel, fudgy custard with caramelised pecans on top.

    It's a lovely dessert when done right. This was good, but it was missing something. And I remembered how good Maryanne's cooking is.

    The crust of this pie? Puff pastry. I'm sure it was baked with baking beads or stones (blind baked), though the pastry was probably frozen.

    I was reminded of an apple pie Maryanne made a few months ago for our Village family. I knew Maryanne had some skills when I spied her rolling the dough on the cool stainless steel bench (keep your dough cool). I'm so glad I got a piece of Maryanne's apple pie that day.

    Perfect shortcrust pastry. Soft, but not too soft, slightly sweet apple cinnamony filling and a perfectly cooked shortcrust lid.

    This. Is what this pecan pie needs. Maryanne's shortcrust pastry.

    Sorry Banff. Maryanne from Cohuna wins.
    Read more