Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Citizens on patrol. Melissa joins LAPD

    May 31, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Initial arrival at LAX has Melissa doing what she has done best to date in the absence of adequate signage. Look lost, use the Australian accent to one's advantage, and ask for help.

    No airport staff to be found. No signs! Once you get off the plane, you're on your own.

    The safest bet is to ask the police. Permanently stationed at LAX. The lovely policeman, let's call him John, assists by personally calling our concierge company for airport transfer to our hotel, Hilton, West Hollywood. (Read in posts to follow the ridiculous amount of time it took me to understand the international dialling code 🙃).

    He is kind beyond measure and tells me he is permanently stationed at the airport. It's viewed as a retirement transition and much less stress than the beat.

    John presents me with an official LAPD badge and my inner 6 year old beams as, honestly, this is an induction for my entry into the LAPD, and my moment to shine.

    Okay. It's a sticker. But. It's authentic! And with that, I've officially joined the LAPD as a citizen on patrol. Dad beams with pride and hopes he gets to meet Kim Kattrall (Police Academy leading actress before SATC).

    This appointment became critical, as we were assisting Mum into a car in hotel car park, a real-life police chase takes place on the road right in front of us.

    The assailant, chased on foot by plain clothes police, throws his gun on the road. He makes it another 20 metres or so and is then tasered and arrested. I captured some of it on film.

    You'd almost think Hollywood was staging a production for the visiting Aussies.

    Many more adventures from our time in Hollywood, Los Angeles to be shared, including my very own meeting with The Springfield police department and Chief Wiggum. I'm taking my official duties as an appointed Australian Citizen on Patrol, very seriously.

    In the meantime, we'll try to avoid The Blue Oyster.

    ut serviat et custodiat: To serve and protect.
    Read more