Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Secret codes and sinful pizza

    June 1, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Our gorgeous concierge from LAX to our hotel on day 1 of arrival issued a recommendation. If you like pizza.

    "There is a spot called Sinful Pizza on Hollywood Blvd. You can buy it by the slice. It's really good! The guy does all kinds of pizza.

    The fun part is the rsstroom! After you eat, and praise his food, subtly ask if he has a restroom..."

    Nancy. I do. I really do like pizza! Challenge. Accepted.

    We venture on in. Jan is as impressed as one would be with a fart in an elevator. I'm desperate for the answer to the riddle Nancy provided. I nervously ask the cook. Order takerer. Dude behind the counter. I praise his pizza (it really was good). I ask to use the restroom (It's a dunny mate!). He tells me the manager isn't in and he doesn't have any authority...

    I cry. Real tears. I need this answered. I've convinced Dad it's going to be awesome! He is somewhat satisfied by the addition of pineapple to a ham and cheese pizza (he is learning to trust my knowledge of all the ways in which one can hack a food order).

    Dad purchases a coke for someone outside in need. I ordered wrong and the coke zero they receive instead of a regular coke is unsatisfactory. I am my father's daughter as we simultaneously exclaim. Beggars. Can't be choosers.

    We finish our meal (1 slice fed all 3 of us!) and I continue my dramatic sad act at not being allowed in to this Hollywood secret.

    I mop my silent tears as our (host? So American) proudly announces he can take me to the secret room. Dad starts dialling 911.

    I'm led 'out back' to what on the face of it, is a huge cool room (could be a murder room. I've seen Dexter mate!). Inside. A very. Cool. Speakeasy bar.

    I'm grateful to know the secret. But seriously. Way too tired to come back when the people are here.

    Nancy. Great pizza. Cool bar. Not for us week 5. Maybe week 67 of our trip.

    Best pizza so far. But. Roma's Pizza. Echuca. Still wins. Even without a secret dunny code for the addition of mystery.
    Read more