Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    United Kingdom. #convictreturned

    November 12, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 4 °C

    Though my flight from Tromso, Norway, on W!zz Airlines (I was nervous!) arrived 30 minutes early to London, Luton airport (how very proper to be ahead of schedule), the shitshow to clear customs ensured sleep and I would meet sometime closer to 0130.

    My comment to customs officials in the hour long queue "It's almost like you weren't expecting any planes to come in" didn't bode well, and I'm not sure my exhausted laissez-faire commentary is appreciated. Again. Cup of f*cks. Empty.

    I arrive at my lovely hotel, Novotel West London, somewhere around 0100 after an hour long and $200 taxi fare. They do, however, drive on the proper (left) hand side of the road here, and it looks a little like some parts of Melbourne. I'm very appreciative of the lotus biscoff on offer and wonder why anyone would choose a Tim Tam over one of these babies. A perfect bedtime snack.

    I've been travelling since 0900. I've been crook. I've subsisted on Norwegian vending machine junk food and I'm a little cooked. I muster through after less than 5 hours sleep and arise at 0630 to join a coach / walking group of (some) London sights. Westminster, Big Ben, Buckingham palace. Starbucks. KFC. Subway. McDonalds. The group move at glacial pace, and although worth it, I'm wanting to run through the crowd at every opportunity. They're ruining my fitness stats with their 30 minute kms! I also sadly realise I'm not a royalist, and the info proffered by the tour guide is a little yawnarooney for me. Sorry Grandma and Aunty Joy. I like other British things though! Like tea. And sponge cake. And scones! And complaining ;)

    It is, however, with admiration, I observe the armistice day celebrations. They are weekend long in England and the respect is palpable. The video attached was as close as I could get.

    My fatigue starts to shift, and I'm grateful milk tastes like real milk in Europe thus far. I take in the sights, though the highlight of my afternoon was running through the streets and parks of Kensington. The light rain started in my last km. A good mate tells me how cleansing it is. It really was, and I feel euphoric. A stark contrast to this morning.

    I manage a total of 9km of running and 6km of walking today. I'm grateful for a body that can move this way and help me enjoy this beautiful city on foot.

    I'm also grateful to meet the roots of our Aussie culture, as so far, our British mates are as awesome as us Aussies.

    I cruise the Thames this evening.

    London. I can't wait to return one day soon and explore the country and isles in the time it deserves.
    Read more