Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Discovery. Recovery. Alone in Paris.

    November 21, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    Bon voyage. Au revoir. The tour is terminé. Luigi has returned to Mario. My new friends, either on return flights home or extending their time in Paris by a few days. I'm en route to Orly airport and heading for Istanbul!

    Yesterday was an epic day of rest. 15,000 steps aside, I rested. Mostly. And it was beautiful. I moved hotels to have access to a gym, save $200 and be closer to the airport.

    I'm astounded by the balconies that aren't quite balconies. There's really not much preventing a fall. Not a thought to indulge.

    I chose yesterday to indulge my other passion. Food. I sat in a beautiful Parisian Cafe. I read. I pondered life. And dined on Mille Feuille- with raspberries. A snot block back home. Délicieuse. Not as good as a snot block from Richmond Bakery and Cafe in Tasmania (award winning snottie, circa 2003). I'm pretty worldly it seems.

    My lack of research prior to this trip has finally tripped me up. I can't get to the catacombs. Booked for days / weeks in advance. The Louvre? I attempted a visit yesterday, walking the 30 minutes there. I'd not planned it well. The line was long. I had however walked off my indulgences. AND! Successfully navigated all on my lonesome, the 1 hour return on foot. #learningmapreading.

    I'll google the great arts. I know it's not the same, but it's the best I can do in limited time and mental capacity.

    Continuing my quest for authentic (and delicious) French food, I ask a local for a tip. I head to Brasserie Pastis. I cleverly navigate my way there. Knowing I won't be sharing air with 36 others on a confined coach and can fart freely, I order a French staple. soupe à l'oignon française. French onion soup. It is stunning.

    I follow with another favourite. Crème brûlée à la vanille. I declare it the best I've ever had.

    This quaint French bistro is everything I needed in that moment. A tonic for my health and heart.

    I wake at the ungodly hour of 5am today to get a run in. I manage just shy of 9km before I'm politely kicked out. I'm relieved. Exhausted. I had reserved the gym 5-6am. I should've been up at 4. C'est la vie. The final leg of my journey offers many more opportunities to train.

    Viva la France. Onwards to Istanbul and the Mediterranean.

    Au revoir.
    Read more