Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    We're on the Rhodes to Nowhere

    November 26, 2023, Eastern Mediterranean ⋅ 🌬 18 °C

    Rhodes, Greece. A lovely day was planned sightseeing this ancient Greek city today, though Poseidon, God of the sea, had other plans.

    The swells made docking at port impossible. Sales of motion sickness tablets on-board soared with the crests of the waves. I myself had a rough morning.

    I'd purchased paracetamol in Crete yesterday, and took a dose before bed last night. I laid awake most of the night. Not unwell. Not feeling tired. And worked out at 5am I'd taken the Greek equivalent of Panadol Extra. Paracetamol + Caffeine. At least I had reason and planned my 4pm bedtime after a day of exploration.

    Over breakfast, the announcement was made. We'd be missing this port.

    I decided today was my day! I can get a really long run in and smash some goals! I can catch up with an at sea day! I'd not however considered the combined forces of treadmill running in high seas combined with burgeoning seasickness myself.

    I managed to run 4.5km over 2 sessions (hanging on for dear life at some points), a 2 hour nap and a 6pm bedtime in hopes tomorrow, we can dock at Alanya, Turkey, and that the seas settle for the sake of all on board.

    A day of rainbows at least to bring some cheer.
    Read more