Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Greece. Crete and Christening Crashing.

    November 25, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Sometimes the best days happen because they're not planned. The spontaneity eliminates expectations; and today was a shining example of how glad I am to not have planned detail to the minutiae on this incredible voyage.

    I'm sleeping a lot. Acknowledging my body may also be demanding recoup after the calamitous pace of the journey so far. I'm listening. I'm grateful. The late nights and sips are a version of me I no longer recognise. I now demand solitude. Movies. An occasional wine. Herbal tea and early nights. The bartender closest to my room knows my order well. A pina colada. No alcohol. A pineapple coconut slushie really. Early nights and Netflix.

    I'd researched a little (in fairness, only in the previous days), what Heraklion (Crete), Greece had to offer and was reminded of one of the few history lessons I recall being interested in. The mythological story of Theseus and the Minotaur, based in crete, captivated the 14 year old in me. I wasn't able to honour this history lesson, though today's adventures filled my heart in a way Mrs Maggs (sorry, we once referred to her as Mrs Scraggs) my year 7 & 8 history teacher never could.

    I met Ian and Annie the moment I boarded this cruise. I decided after my tribulations in Istanbul that morning, and desire for a lengthy afternoon siesta, a red with lunch was the order of the day. I met Ian as he heard my Aussie accent ordering such red. "How typical! An Aussie at the bar!". My reply of "Get f*cked!" Aussie slang for I see you too bro, cemented our friendship.

    I commenced this morning not knowing what I was capable of. No plans in place. I met Ian in the corridors after breakfast. He had planned to explore Crete in the exact way I'd mentally pieced together, and we agreed to meet at 10am. Disembark. And see what eventuated.

    For some context, Ian is close to one of the most empathic, kind, hilarious people I've met in my time on this planet. Top of the corporate game, he gave it all up to care for his sister, who'd been disabled after an MVA in the prime of her life.

    His compassion, wit and hilarity is contagious. A story for context:

    Ian: I've done a lot of cruises and noticed on all the cruise itineraries a daily meeting for Bill W. I thought. Who is this Bill W and why is he on every cruise I book? I attended the meeting one day, curious to know who Bill W is /was. Drink in hand, I walk in. Late. All eyes on me. And the next person stands. Introduces themselves. Hi. I'm Bob. I'm an addict of 7 years and... IT WAS / IS an AA / NA meeting. Ian attended with drink in hand 🤣🤣, completely unawares. And made a quick exit shortly thereafter.

    Our morning in Crete was as equally hilarious. We wandered. Dined. We found ourselves in the oldest restaurant in Crete and enjoyed fine Greek tea. Pastries. Ice cream.

    We shopped. I tried on a lux Euro jacket and purchased a handheld "Looking Cute" handheld mirror to take the p*ss out of ourselves and the many tour directors holding up similar placards.

    The highlight of our day was crashing a Christening. Little Eggapai (that's our name for her) enjoyed a few tourists in the church. We were kind enough to donate for our prayers. We are planning on crashing a wedding sometime tomorrow.

    Another unexpectedly perfect day with new friends.

    Antio sas Crete, from some Aussie Cretins.
    Read more