Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Alanya. Turkey. Yeah. Nah.

    November 27, 2023 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    I woke early in hopes to beat the rough seas and get a decent run complete before the treadmill evacuated me. I'd set my alarm for 0430, noting I'd lose an hour with time zone change. I was on ships WiFi with zero automated clock updates.

    I woke to my alarm and the seas were still very rough. I decided to return to slumber. Commit to my shore excursion and run in the afternoon. I'm so glad I did. We didn't/ couldn't dock. I call bullsh*t as I've seen rougher toddler pools in Australia, but who am I to argue with the commercial realities vs mother nature of a cruise line.

    I looked longingly at the shore I'd not get to explore. The ancient stalactite / stalagmite cave excursion I'd booked that would not be. I remembered my Dad. His lessons on rock and mineral formation. And the wonder I'd held at the Geological world he seemed to know so intimately. I was dismayed. And caged.

    F*ck you I decided. Today. I will not have cabin fever. I have slept. I have energy. And this sh*t needs discharging.

    I harnessed my energy. I was wound up and ready! I walked. I ran. I wanted 50k steps today to diffuse and hit a personal goal. I managed 45,000ish and an 18km run. My longest ever.

    I packed more into today than a human being should. 38km on foot. A massage. I finished the evening with a beautiful Teppanyaki dinner with Ian and Annie, and a show. Hypnotist Christopher Caress. I volunteered as tribute. I made it through the selection round and was asked to leave the stage as I could not be put into a state of sleep. Sums up my life to date. Apparently I'm resistive to hypnosis. I'm resistive to trusting a showman on a cruiseship, though the 8 remaining on stage seemed in a powerful trance.

    I wish I could be hypnotised. How wonderful the power of suggestion would be. I'll keep on trying.

    Onwards to Limassol, Cyprus, with no expectations we'll be able to dock.

    I'll have a Netty day if we don't.
    Read more