Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Vatican City. Religion and more Penis'

    December 5, 2023 in Vatican City ⋅ 🌧 11 °C

    I suspect it's the carbs. It surely isn't the bed as I can feel the springs poking through. Though I slept. I would've continued to sleep too if not for the lightning and thunder that woke me at 0900. Over 10 solid hours.

    Much needed as I had an appointment at The Vatican. I rush to get ready. Small breakfast and brave the rains in Rome on foot. I meet at arranged time and enjoy (endure?) a 3 hour tour of The Vatican Museum, The Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's cathedral.

    I am a lover of art. Whilst I am no artist myself, (maybe a little) I've dabbled in a few mediums and have immense respect for the talent and dedication of time to creation of a visual masterpiece. The Vatican Museum is stunning, though experiencing such beauty amongst thick crowds of people and a guide with commentary, it removes the ability to pause. Reflect. Absorb. Appreciate and admire.

    The sheer volume of artwork is also a visual overwhelm. Everything begins to look the same or similar. I'm distracted by the pushy members in our small group, chewing gum like cows chewing the cud. It's an over stimulation and whilst I'm grateful I came. I saw. I am relieved when the tour concluded at St Peter's cathedral. No photography was allowed in the Sistine Chapel.

    I missed spying David's junk too. He is located in Florence. Non importa. I capture many more statues with what may clinically be termed as micro. Poor ancient Romans, though I have learned a small penis was affiliated with more noble pursuits of wisdom, knowledge and academia. Some console at least.

    I conclude my afternoon with another incredible pizza. A thick crust Margherita this time. And more coffee. Grazi Italy for your beautiful coffee and food.

    A bailed run. I'm citing fatigue and carb crashing. I dine alone tonight. A beautiful cafe called Pompi. Dessert only. A deconstructed Tira misu. Bellisimo.

    My final day in Rome tomorrow will be spent touring the Colosseum. And eating.

    Two more sleeps til Vegemite o'clock.
    Read more