Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Last bit of touring on Isle o Wight

    May 1, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    The Chine and chippy

    Today we head back to London and the big city after the relative serenity of the Isle of Wight. I took myself off to walk down Hope Road to the beach, phew!! A massive down to the shore front was amazing really gave my knees a good work out... I had thought that Megs n Colin would come down to meet me, but about two hours later I wandered back up to the house after trying to reach them on the phone.
    I couldn't work the key in the door so sat on the swing summer seat in the front yard. A few minutes later Colin called to say they were down at the beach front. Off I went again to meet Megs n Col and wander down the other end of the beach to a lovely cafe where we watched Megs get into the freezing cold water of the English Channel for a swim. She did it, got her whole body under!! Even the locals were amazed!
    We wandered back up the very steep hill home where Ros was just getting organised for her day. I went through her mail with her and then we went to do a little more exploring of Isle of Wight to what they call the Chine, a gorge found in the 1870s and cleaned up by the locals to make a great walk, inlcuding rare plants. The following are photos of our day.
    It takes around three and a half hours (like Rotorua to Auckland for me) to take the subway, a train, a bus, a hovercraft and then another bus to get to and from Isle of Wight. We were glad to get home and relax on the couch after our adventures. Thanks to Ros for her hospitality.
    Read more