Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Southbank today

    May 3, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Trip into Westminster to walk to Southbank

    Today I took the train to Southbank as per Colin's suggestion. Teaming with folk coming in all directions across the bridge from Westminster station, there was a lot to see including the lowlander playing the bagpipes in his full regalia. When I learn how to crop a video I will post. I got him to play his favourite tune and then Highland Cathedral. ( guess who I was thinking about there?)

    The other photos of course are of the Lion, a wonderful statue on top of a window in the old council buildings, the London eye..oh dear no way was I going to get on that monstrosity, Westminster Palace and big ben, which chimed just as I was videoing the piper!! The place seems to become more and more like Blackpool. There was sea world, london dungeon themed experience, and Shrek all next door to each other along with a merry go round, various food carts, restaurants galore along the way.

    It was a slow walk down the southbank pier into the centre a lot of which is closed off and walked down a narrow roadway which used to be the council buildings I believe to see the wee garden below with the crown atop it, and the sentry standing very still.

    I found a wee shop and bought a few wee coronation things and took the photo of the mini inside the shop...bless! Watched the tourist boats going up and down the Thames before walking across the next bridge to Charing Cross station to be on my way home again. A beautiful sunny sunny day, the weather is changing! Woohoo!!

    Today I have also been in touch with our cousin, Jean, after finding out she lives next door to Portsmouth where we just were at the weekend. We have organised to meet when I return from Spain. I am so excited to meet our kith and kin for the first time on Dad's closest family members.
    Read more