Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Ayegui

    May 22, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Resting for a few days to get over a cold...I arrived here by bus to Estella and then taxi to this albergue in Ayegui where I could stay for three nights. Not a lot of the albergues allow more than one night hence coming here.

    As I was waiting for the bus I took a couple of photos of the square where I sat, watching the tenants come and go, so different in a small village where everyone knows each other...some are happy to see you others grumpy if you say hola.. but it's the general thing to do, and if one adds "quetal", the face lights up " muy Bien" e tu"…mucho Bien gracias...sets us up for a good conversation.

    Another thing I've noticed is that people have firm boundaries in that they focus on one thing at a time and you wait for service people to finish what they are doing before asking for anything else,.. otherwise they get grumpy. I'm not explaining that very well

    On the way I got to take a photo of one of the wee towns I missed Ceraque, again I think my spelling is wrong...just an amazing town on top of a hill... Famous for many things but one pilgrims love is the free wine that pours out of a fountain...hehe! The other night time photo is the view from my room at this albergue...a bit hazy but an idea of Estella from above.
    Read more