Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Primero día por el trabajo

    October 9, 2017 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    This was a really intense day. I was letterly shocked. Even though I knew that healthcare here was simple. I never expected this. I letterly need an evening alone to recover from this. It is a healthcare clinic up in the mountains. Over 5km to be precise. The town is small and called Chincheron. People don't speak Spanish but Quechua. You can see the top of the Andes with snow (that is beautiful though). Today for example, I had a patient with an infected foot and she needed antibiotics. The nurse tried to put an IV in her arm but failed. Then she dropped the needle on the (dirty) floor and tried again in the other arm!!! I was shocked. In the clinic they also provide a lot of education for women about safe sex, care for baby's and they check up on kids. That is quite nice, cause the kids are cute :) Anyway an experience as you can see.

    Though, cause it is so high up in the mountains, it is 1,5 hour travelling. First 45 mins walking, and with this altitude, that is hard. Then 45 min in a dirty bumpy bus. I was not so happy about this cause I don't wanna loose 3 hours of my day. Also travelling in Peru is not really 'relaxed'. You need to be alert every second, if nobody steels from you, if people don't fool you with the price. If a taxi is actually a real taxi. Etcetera etcetera. So I went to 'Maximo nivel' my organisation and asked for a new place. More close to Cusco. They told me they will help me for next week, but this week I stay in Chincheron.
    Read more