Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Corruption

    October 15, 2017 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    It is so sad to realize this, but it is so true. And that is why I want to share it here.

    Even volunteer companies, that are supposed to help people, are corrupted.

    I spoke to Yolanda last week, she is one of the daughters in my host family. She told me that they get 9 soles per person a day for sleeping in their house. That is 3 euros. Maximo nivel told her that she was not aloud to tell the people how much they gave her (I know why... Unfortunately). I give 30euros a night for sleeping here. Where does all this 27 euros go?
    Sure: to the people working in a higher function within Maximo Nivel. Whom are western people, not even Peruvian.

    One of the directors of Maximo Nivel is a Dutch girl of my age. Why is she sitting behind that desk? Why not a Peruvian person with a higher education? If this company wants to help people, that is what they should do.

    Today I spoke with James, who lives in my house. He wanted to donate skateboards to a project here in Cusco. Maximo nivel told him that he should do it through them. James didn't wanted to do that, cause he heard stories that Maximo Nivel keeps the donations. Last year, a rich man came to Cusco and donated 2000dollars to a project through Maximo nivel. Six months later he came back and asked to the project what they did with the money. The Peruvian man said: thank you so much for your 200 (!!!) Dollars, it was a great help for new school books. What?!

    They delete and make sure that bad comments on social media get removed. They don't pay the host families well as they should, the western white people are still the people that make it within the company and the main goal of the company is not helping people... It is making money.

    Last week, when I was unhappy about my internship, I started thinking. "Were you really about to expect that a girl that comes alone to Peru, is happy to travel 3 hours alone a day to her placement?" No, but my opinion doesn't count. I could put a bad review somewhere, but they would remove it anyway.

    Yess, it makes me sad to realize that even a volunteer organisation is corrupted, money does not go where it should and they turn things around in a way that it is profitable for them and not for the poor. Donations disappear and they don't want host families to speak about their positions towards the volunteers.

    Though it is the reality nowadays. It doesn't help to be sad about it. Every big volunteer place will be like this. What I do want, is that people put a question mark with everything they do/see in life. Not everything is as honest as it seems.

    The world is more corrupted than you think. Unfortunately.
    Read more