Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Nursing

    October 27, 2017 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Today will be my last day working in the children's department, this weekend I will finish my assignment about nutrition. From Monday on I will start working in the lab.

    It was really interesting to work with babies. Also quite nice to experience for the first time 'happy' patients. But I have to admit it... I still prefer the really sick ones haha. More challenging.

    Confronting in a way that they miss out on so much material. Also, the passion among the people for their job, is missing. They just do what they do and go home. They letterly work for money, not because they love what they do.

    We should be so grateful to got born in developed countries. We know we can count on the nurses and doctors back home, cause they really care and the system works. Also, the places are clean, there is always enough medicine and the resources for diagnostics is available. I think after this work, I start appreciating more the hospital back home, despite the working pressure.

    Here, I do volunteer work, I basically came here to help people. Though, cause of the lack of resources, I don't always feel I help the people. How can you clean a babies bellybutton without using gloves, cleaning your hands etcetera? Well, I cannot really clean my hands cause a lot of times there is no water. There is no paper to dry my hands and the tap is so dirty that if I close the tap.. my hands are dirty again!

    I love to help people and I like it to hear a patient say in the end of my shift: thank you for your help. That's where you do it for, I guess :)
    Read more