Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    AT Day 0 (Approach Trail) - Everything i

    March 12, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    -8.8 - .2 miles.

    Perfect start to this adventure. It’s difficult to get in to the writing mood, but I’m going to try to jot down my thoughts as best I can.

    Today started off at 6 am. I should mention that I’m starting this with my friends I met along the Colorado Trail. Jessica and Molly, and Molly’s boyfriend Ryan. They’re joining me for the first 3 days, and they were nice enough to pick me up from the airport and give me a place to stay last night. Above all else, it was nice to start this journey with friends.

    All 4 of us started the 2 hour drive to Amicalola Falls State Park. Once there, we listened to the Ranger on how this year is different with Covid. Basically, practice being bear safe, the privies are closed, and be smart by social distancing. All things that I had practiced when I did the Colorado trail, so I was ready to go. Weighed my pack and got my registration finished up. I’m hiker 669. My pack weighs 26 pounds fully loaded with 5 days of food and 1 liter of water. I'm happy with that.

    Once we were good to go, we dropped off our packs at the Lodge, parked the car at the overnight parking, and then we started hiking. The weather was absolutely perfect. Mid 50’s, mostly sunny, with a slight breeze. We hiked the 700 steps up the falls and went and got our packs that the ladies at the lodge were nice enough to let us keep behind the counter.

    Then the real hike began. It’s an 8.5 mile hike to the beginning of the Appalachian trail, and the approach trail is no picnic. We started the real hike around 10 am. With a few stops for water and breakfast, we made it to Springer Mountain, and the official start of the AT by 5. Not bad.

    Last year, I didn’t have any views due to the rain, but this year it was perfect. It was a great day of hiking. No complaints. My knees are good, my ankles are good. My pack feels alright. “Everything is awesome.” That was today’s motto.

    I’m glad to have the company I have for these first few days. We all had dinner tonight together. I introduced Jessica and Molly to a thru-hiker delicacy called a Ramen-Bomb. Ramen+mashed potatoes+olive oil+summer sausage. It comes out to right around 1000 calories.

    After dinner I went to my tent for the night. If I’m to journal every night and keep track of certain details throughout this journey, I’ve got to set aside a good amount of time each evening, so I was in my tent by 6:45.

    After 15 minutes of stretching and working on my feet, I started journaling. I can hear the girls not far away, but they’re winding down for the night as well.

    All in all, what a great first day. Couldn’t have asked for better weather, and I’m told tomorrow will be very similar. The temp tonight might drop in to the 40s, but that’s fine. I’m comfortable down below freezing.

    I’m excited. It’s almost 7:30, almost completely dark, and I’m about to fall asleep. Hopefully I sleep well. My body is definitely tired.

    Tomorrow morning will be 2-3 servings of oatmeal and a couple cups of coffee, then I believe it’s a 10 mile hike to our next stop.
    Read more