Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Singaporean food memories

    March 22 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    We’ve landed in Singapore, a special place for me because I lived and worked here for the first 2 years of my career. Divya was also looking forward to it because I had introduced her to Hainanese Chicken Rice in London and she loved it. This was our chance to experience the authentic version of the dish and that’s what we did. We went first to Lau Pa Sat, a historical food court where I used to have lunch almost every day. The chicken rice was yum, especially the rice and the sauces. We then went to Maxwell food centre to try the version at Tian Tian, which is considered the “original” version. We liked this less mostly because some of the sauces and the broth were already mixed in. The chicken here was much tender though. We also ended up trying Kaya butter toast at Ya Kun Kaya, one of the things I used to have frequently. Another thing on the list was Salmon Pepper Rice at Pepper Lunch Express, but we were already too full and well satisfied to try that.Read more