Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Bocce, Aquatic Gardens, & Burning Man

    August 15, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Bob’s bocce ball team, Joanie Loves Bocce, won their match on Tuesday night. I tried my hand at the game. It was kinda fun.

    We took the bus up to U Street. Crazy dude on the bus called Bob and I and the other white folks “crackers” and was quoting old tv shows. Very bizarre. One of the many reasons I never took the bus in DC when I lived here. Too much adventure for me.

    Today we went to one of my favorite hidden DC spots, the Aquatic Gardens, located on the other side of the Anacostia river. The lily pads and flowers were beautiful. Such a special treat.

    The Renwick Gallery had an amazing Burning Man exhibit. The interactive installations were great. We did a virtual reality tour on Black Rock City (Burning Man City). Cool.

    We walked tons making our way by the White House, Trump Hotel at the Old Post Office, sculpture garden, botanical garden, and lots of other sights. We found the statue of Mayor Marion Barry under wraps. Bob was able to get a good shot under the plywood.

    Dinner at the house. More fun for the whole week!
    Read more