Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Library of Congress and ERA Friends

    August 17, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    I got a personal behind-the-scenes tour of the Library of Congress by Bob (a former staffer). This amazing book-lovers dream is a glorious architectural and art-filled wonder. I saw the stacks, the actual card catalogs, and the reading room. Not usually on the tourist list. But go.

    We stopped in at Representative Blumenauer’s and Senators Wyden and Merkley’s offices to lobby and say hello. They have PDX carpet! Non-Oregonian’s don’t get it.

    I had dinner with people I worked with from as early as1979! Barbara Helmick started the first canvassing operations in the country. I canvassed for Women’s Resources for Action to elect ERA-supporting women candidates. Today she works for DC statehood. Wyden is not a co-sponsor. Why? Two Democratic Senators, people!

    Mary Jean Collins ran the Illinois campaigns in 1980 and 1982 to try to pass the ERA. She has been one of the most influential women in my life. She taught me how to fight, be strategic, and enjoy the journey. And keep going. At 78 she is still as vital and fun as ever.

    Chris Riddiough, Judy Nedrow and I helped integrate the Gertrude Stein Democratic Club that was all white gay men back in the early 80’s. I met them both in Chicago in 1982 working and volunteering for NOW.

    It was a delightful evening sharing old stories and hearing about who was doing what now. Earlier in the day Bob and I went to the Belmont-Paul Women’s Equality National Monument. I got to see original banners and displays about the brutal fight for women’s suffrage. The British and American women were beaten, force-fed, and tortured in their quest for the vote - and still they persisted.
    Read more