Satellite
Show on map
  • Learning my Job at the Campaign

    October 17, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Meri from the campaign gave me a call this morning with a brief orientation on what I'll be doing. I'll be one of 40 Staging Location Directors (SLD). What that means is I will be working with one other SLD in charge of greeting, training, getting out the door, and checking back in four (yep) four canvass shifts each day. I'm supposed to get there at 8am and shut down the location in Monticello NY at 9pm. Long day. Sounds exhilarating!

    The race is really so close. From all accounts it looks like Delgado is a bit ahead in the polls but the negative "rapper" ads are having their desired effect. Bob sent along this opinion piece that helps illuminate how it is affecting voters. https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/this-ne…

    After my chat with Meri, I got the SLD packet from Christian, the Field Director, that walks through the systems and protocols. They are using spreadsheets! My favorite! They have lists and turf all loaded into an online program (with back ups on paper for those so inclined). They have a Boiler Room and minute by minute run of show to keep things on track. Reminds me of managing a teeny tiny little Sunday Parkways.

    I threw in a photo of me from my Swan Lake days. That's me, my brother Ron in the middle, and Ames, whose dad, Sam, took the picture. Sam owned a print shop in Liberty NY close to Swan Lake. I guess he was selling these cardboard tents. No idea.
    Read more