Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Monday Thoughts

    November 5, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    Bob left this morning to head back to D.C. I'm missing him already. It was a blessedly slower day today. I'm all of mixed emotions. I am so thrilled with the kind of activism I am seeing. I'm also really nervous and anxious and sad. I'm also pissed and tired and scared to death. I've made some wonderful connections with some amazing and dedicated people. A jumble of emotions.

    I am not trusting the polls. Who answers their phone to give pollsters their opinions? It takes thousands and thousands of dials to reach a few hundred people. That then has to be weighted to match the demographics of likely voters and then analyzed. That analysis has its bias where they make assumptions about who will turn out and who will stay home. And who are the voters that are just not getting counted in these polls. What I know is that the only poll that matters is the one counted tomorrow.

    It is time for sleep. I have to get into the office by 7:15 to run the turf lists (all 120 of them) to get ready for the 124 volunteers we have signed up to canvass tomorrow. Coffee is ready for the morning and the alarm is set. Wish me/us luck.
    Read more