Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    So How’s Your Spanish Going?

    February 25, 2022 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    After four weeks in classes, I am finding that it is hard. I’m not an easy student and speaking with a mask on means that my teachers often doesn’t understand what I am saying. We are studying the more complicated grammatical concepts included in how you say it correctly vs just getting enough of it right to be understood. I’m simultaneously loving and hating it.

    I’m particularly missing my easier conversations with my professor from Lima, Pablo. His enthusiasm and easy-going manner mean learning is like putting a puzzle together instead of a serious of exercises. I am continuing with a weekly class with him to maintain both my speaking and our relationship. He also is able to take the stuff I’m learning here and translate the concepts for me in a different way so that I can really understand it.

    The week that Manuel had Covid, it really slowed down my conversations with Jensy. Now, not so much. We will spend hours over dinner chattering away. I understand most of what she says. She has shared with me about a gazillion photos of family and friend - which I love. Pictures tell a story.

    For these four weeks, I have shared a classroom with another Pablo, a 20 year old from the Czech Republic. He is whip smart, and we are a good match in terms of our level of Spanish. He will explain things I’m confused about that I can’t seem to get the teacher to explain and visa versa. I’m also able to explain English words or phrases to him. (How do you describe the difference between “had been” and “have been”? I know how to parse that out in Spanish but English? Hmmmm.) He is taking a gap year before he starts university to study medicine.

    I find that it is hard to talk to people here in English. Most people don’t speak English and don’t expect me to either. Wordle is getting harder cause I keep thinking of Spanish words to fill in. Ah immersion. After a day in school, and doing homework, and talking with Jensy, and reading my book in Spanish, watching the news and my tv series “Las Chicas de Cables”, and translating my blog into Spanish, I can be bone tired by 10pm.

    I’m taking a break next week to consolidate and absorb. I’ve added in a few hours with Pablo (in Lima) to keep up. In four weeks, I have completed their level two. After next week, I will have one more week of lessons at the school at their third and final level - Advanced.

    ***************
    Entonces, ¿Cómo está tu español?

    Después de cuatro semanas en las clases, ha estado difícil para mí. No soy una estudiante fácil y hablando con una mascarilla significa que mis maestros, con frecuencia, no entienden cuando hable. Estudiamos conceptos gramaticales más complicados incluido en cómo hablar algo correctamente versus solamente hablar suficientemente para ser entendido. Estoy amándolo y odiándolo simultáneamente.

    Estoy extrañando, particularmente, mis conversaciones más fáciles con mi profesor de Lima, Pablo. Su entusiasmo y manera de trato fácil significa aprendiendo es como armar una rompecabeza en lugar de una serie de ejercicios. Estoy continuando clases semanario con él para que mantenga hablando y nuestra relación. También él puede tomar las cosas que aprendo aquí y traducírmelas en una manera diferente así que las puedo entender mejor.

    La semana que Manuel tenía Covid, se entorpece mucho de mis conversaciones con Jensy. Ahora, no mucho. Pasaremos horas durante la cena chateando. Entiendo la mayoría de lo qué me dice. Me ha compartido casi un millón de fotos de su familia y amigos – que me encanta. Fotos dice una historia.

    Por estas cuatro semanas, he compartido un aula con otro Pablo, un hombre que tiene 20 años de la Republica de Checa. Él es muy inteligente, y nosotros somos una buena pareja en términos de nuestro nivel de español. Me explicó cosas que no podía hacer que la maestra me explica y visa versa. También le puedo explicar palabras o frases en inglés. (¿Cómo describe la diferencia entre “has been” y “have been”? ¿Sé cómo analizarlos en español, pero en inglés…?) Toma una sabática por un año antes de que empiece universidad para que estudie medicina.

    Me di cuenta de que es difícil hablar con la gente aquí en inglés. La mayoría no habla inglés y no me espera tampoco. Wordle (en inglés) es más difícil porque sigo pensando de palabras en español in lugar de inglés. Ah inmersión. Después de un día en la clase, y mi tarea, y hablar con Jensy, y leer mi libro en español, mirar las noticias y mi serie de televisión “Las Chicas de Cables,” y traducir mi blog a español, puedo estar muy cansada por 10pm.

    Estoy tomando un descanso la próxima semana para absorber y consolidar. Agregué unas horas con Pablo (en Lima) para continuar mis estudios. En cuatro semanas, había terminado el nivel dos. Después de la próxima semana, voy a tener una semana más de lecciones en la escuela en el final nivel, tres – avanzado.
    Read more