Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Easter Sunday in Lisbon

    April 9, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    We tried to scope out what was open and what was not before our trip, but oddly the info was not really available. We traveled by bus down to Belem to look at the famous tower (that was closed), Jerónimo Monastery (also closed) and waterfront. The outsides of the buildings were beautiful and the weather can not be beat. Sunny and just warm.

    On the way, we discovered this little street that is famous for fado music with murals and stories on the walls outside. These narrow passages are so full of character and art and hanging laundry. This is what makes European cities so delightful.

    The Museum of Contemporary Art was open, and I drowned myself in an exquisitely curated exhibit chronicling the many different modern and contemporary art genres. I loved how each piece related in some way either in juxtaposition or in concert with the piece before it. It told a story. I also noticed that this museum had more women artists represented. A nice change of pace from the usual all-male lineup.

    I had my first Pasteis de Nata (Portuguese Custard Tart). It is made by making a laminated dough for the crust and a rich custard that is charred on the top giving it a texture and flavour to die for. There was close by the “original” place to get them, but it is generally a madhouse. I have read it’s not really that good anymore. It’s hard to churn out hundreds or even thousands on a daily basis and keep up the quality. The one I had was sublime.

    We found the Tropical Botanical Gardens nearby and walked around until we just couldn’t walk any more.

    Dinner was take out from a traditional Portuguese place up the street. Everything seems to be “up” the street. So many hills to climb. We witnessed two knuckleheads almost get into a bona fide fistfight in front of the restaurant. Men are strange. They get all upset and try to use there fists to solve their grievances. Maybe it is cultural, but mostly I think it is just the testosterone.

    Tomorrow we go birdwatching for half a day with a guide. I have done no studying of the birds here. I’m rusty with my binocular skills. It will be interesting.
    Read more