Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Barcelona - Day Three

    May 10, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Today was Montjuïc. And more stairs. Lots of stairs. We started with half the modern art floor of the Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya. It’s gigantic. They housed posters from the resistance during Franco’s rise to absolute power. Great narratives and sequencing of the works. That always makes me happy.

    Of course I forgot to
    bring my binoculars, but I could ID the Monk and Rose-ringed Parakeets, a magpie, serin and other common birds.

    Gail went down to the Montjuic prison and I was supposed to go to the Miro Museum. I trekked back to finish the second half of the art museum. It was fabulous. Beautifully curated. It told a complete story from one room to the next. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Gail and I went to a flamenco performance after a short nap. It was just an hour but packed with singing, guitar playing, and of course, dancing. Costumes we gorgeous. They put on a good show. Except the old ladies who talked during much of the performance, it was super fun.

    I returned to Tierra del Fuego (solo - not a great place for a vegetarian) for a truly delectable conejo asada with a couple glasses of red wine. The cook and waitress joked with me that I had to finish it! In Spanish! So fun to be able to play in Spanish. (Gracias a Pablo)

    Tomorrow we head down to Sevilla.
    Read more