Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Pamplona to Puente La Reina

    May 5, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    I was thinking on my walk today that I would enjoy returning to this part of Spain and travelling by car. I spent the last two evenings in Pamplona, but because most of that time is spent trying to figure out luggage, communication, laundry, there is not much time or energy to sightsee or enjoy the all the pleasures and wealth of the Camino.

    For example, today, I passed a lovely little cafe in a village only about 4 km from where I am spending the night, and normally, I would love nothing more than to sit on a patio with a bit of tapa and wine, but the reality of the Camino is that this is a journey, not a holiday. It is 26+ degrees, in the sun all day, more hills, and my feet have blisters, and so I didn't stop at the cafe, but another time, I definitely will, but I will be in a car! (lol).

    Today's trail, which includes, Alto de Perdon, at 2526 metres, has spiritual significance as the "height of forgiveness". This area has the highest winds and the windmills are littered across the mountains and hills, and traditionally this area plays a role in forgiveness, carrying away one's sorrows and clearing the pilgrim of the burdens he has carried up here. This is considered the Way of the Wind. Apparently this is " where the way of the wind meets the way of the stars."

    I don't really know what to think of all this today as I grieved the anniversary of my lost marriage...but I think it was appropriate and God willing that today of all days, I walked the Way of the Wind.
    Read more