Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Los Arcos to Logroño

    May 8, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Today's 28 km walk walk was very challenging, and not because the walk itself was very difficult...the usual number of hills, the usual number of descents, and a lovely 28 degree day, blue ski. Not a lot of villages along the way, so one needed to be prepared and plan for food and water.

    The challenge today began yesterday with sore and blistered feet. This morning, I was undecided whether I would walk this section today, or take the bus to the next town. I decided to walk. So the taxi picked me up and dropped me back in Los Arcos where I finished yesterday, and I began to walk. By the way, my transfer also included meeting two Canadians from Summerland!

    By the first 100 meters, I knew that it would be impossible to walk 28 km with the shoes on my feet, so switched to my Tevas which offered some relief and I managed to get to the next town about 5 or 6 km ahead. The pharmacy was open...which is nothing short of a miracle in Spain because in Spain, it seems that it often a holiday, a soccer game, siesta or Sunday (lol). I bought some gel inserts, and put them in my shoes, I rebandaged my feet, tied the laces tight and set off, somewhat more comfortable.

    I decided that if in the next town (Viana...where I also slept the night before) that I would get a taxi if my feet were too painful...in Viana, it was manageable still, and I met up with a friend, Darlene in Viana and the two us embarked on the final 10 km to Logrono together...me with my blistered feet and Darlene with her plantar fasciitis. We grabbed an orange juice before leaving town, but we both wanted beer admittedly...

    The walk to Logrono was not hard, but very exposed and, therefore, hot, upwards of 30 degrees...through the wine groves, and toward the city of Logrono. Just as we entered the city, a woman was selling cold drinks, we enjoyed a coke before finishing the last 4 km into the city and our hotels.

    Today, I am learning humility, and how to adjust expectations. Tomorrow's walk is a moderately difficult walk of another 27km. In the morning, I will decide how I will approach the day tomorrow, and I know that however the day goes, it is still a Camino day.
    Read more