Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Burgos to Hornillos del Camino

    May 15, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    The walk out of Burgos was lovely...it remained in the old town, across the river, past the original Parliament building, past the university into the countryside where nearly all of today's walk was in the countryside leading to the next major section of the Camino, the meseta. The meseta is a plateau where for the next 170 km or so will stretch until approximately Leon.

    I am now able to confidently say that 21.5 km is a short walk. The cooler weather also makes it so that walking is very comfortable. Add to that the relatively flat terrain, only a small climb for a few kilometres changed the rhythm of the day. My feet are bandaged up neatly every morning, but now I am finally keeping to a pace and rhythm that is perfect for me and my body.

    We started out as a larger group today, and largely stayed that way most of the way with intermittent staggering here and there, until the next cafe! Today, I walked all of my way with Savante, from Sweden, and then we parted ways as he continued onto the next town for a 30 km day.

    Hornillos del Camino is not any more remarkable than many of the towns along the way, except for one thing. If any of you have watched the film, The Way, the film features a local, and this local man is actually local, and our little group had the privilege of watching him at work in his community where he moves pilgrims from place to place in his "taxi". Our taxi driver said that he is famous, but totally cuckoo. I am going to try to attach the video that I took today of him and the saga of getting his truck started. I didn't catch a very good picture of the famous local, but the video is classic camino.

    Tonight, I will catch up with Holgar whom I have not walked with since the first day of the Camino, but finally our schedules are in sync. Diana is also still here in Burgos tonight, and her and I discovered last night that at some point before Leon our walking days are sync, so we will be able to walk together, not just eat and have wine!
    Read more