Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Castrojeriz to Fromista

    May 17, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌬 17 °C

    Today, as perhaps the next few days will be, was relatively unremarkable. This area is largely grain and barley farming, so a bit like walking through Saskwatchen (lol). In fact, much of northern Spain so far reminds me a great deal of the Okanagan: fruit, wine, lavender, but no lakes.

    Today was 25km and with the exception of one 1 km hill at a 12% grade and very windy ( Lethbridge windy), it was a good Camino day. Thankfully, my feet are getting better, and healing. They hurt less just generally. Other body parts continue to hold up.

    The windy weather may continue into tomorrow, but there is no forecast for rain, and continued temperatures in the high teens, I think it will be another week before we begin to see weather in the 20’s. But having said that despite the wind and it is a bit cool…the sky is blue and the sun is out, so very pleasant for walking.

    I walked alone much of the day but intermittently met a few friends from Australia. Later today, I met the Canadian father and daughter ( Bob and Kate) whom I see fairly consistently on the trail. I also was introduced to a couple of ladies travelling together from Ontario whom I have not met before today.

    I have attached a picture of my Camino packing system in case you ever wondered how do you pack and unpack for 50 days in a row? First, before I shower, I empty the backpack completely, empty out all the water bottles, I stack clothes into backpack clothes, dirty clothes, clothes I am going to wear after the shower. I lay out medicine, hair shampoo, toothbrush etc in the bathroom. I put all the back pack stuff ready for repacking in the morning, including the first aid kit ( which I use every morning….because every morning my feet require first aid if they are going to see the end of the day.), sun screen. It is a bit of a system, but I find I can relax, have a shower, have a wine or beer and socialize, dinner and be ready for the next day. Luggage always has to be down by 8 am. No dawdling in the morning!

    I attached a picture of the meseta which is sprawling and will continue for the next days to come. I also attached a picture of the cross with shells…it is actually just a bit macabre because in the middle 1400’s if you committed a serious crime, they hung you from it!
    Read more