Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Walk to Ringmu

    April 17, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Elevation - 2720 m

    We left the Monastery and started off for Ringmu. It was a beautiful walk but it was mostly uphill and we were pretty tired when we rolled into Ringmu. In total we walked 20 km today and I was really feeling it.

    The scenery is, of course, amazing. We passed little collections of houses. People use every available level space to grow vegetables and they make level spaces by terraacing the slopes.

    The houses are mostly made of stone blocks which are hand carved and they are not heated. There is usually a wood stove of some kind in the dining area but not in sleeping areas. We have down sleeping bags and usually the tea houses give you a big heavy blanket to put over. I was a bit squeamish about using the blanket as I'm sure they are not washed much. I got over my squeamishness quickly when it was time to get into a very cold bed.

    The food here is bland and either boiled or fried but it's filling and keeps you going. I am relying on potatoes, noodles, porridge, pancakes and eggs. At noon I have been having noodle soup with veg and an egg. Apparently there is a bakery at Namche Bazaar so I'm looking forward to that.

    After supper we stumbled off to bed for a very early night.
    Read more