Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Logan State Park to Tonasket, Washington

    August 18, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    I was up at 6:30 a.m. after a restless night. The park is right beside the highway, and the traffic passing by was very loud.

    I was on the road at 7:15 a.m. with all bags closed securely! The road was very quiet, and the temperature was perfect for the ride to Libby, Montana. I stopped here for breakfast at Henry' Restaurant. It doesn't look like much, but the food was good.

    I continued on Highway 2 through Idaho, where the air was very clear for the first time in days. There had been a strong wind blowing, and it really made driving a bit of a challenge.

    At Newport, I turned on to Highway 20. As the day wore on, it got hotter, and the wind got stronger. I stopped at Colville, and while I was having a snack, the wind picked up even more and very quickly brought in hot, smokey air. I assumed it was coming from all the Kelowna fires.

    I continued on Highway 20 in heavy smoke. From Barney's Junction to Tonasket is a really lovely stretch of road. It actually got cool as the road went over a pass. There were many places to pull over and see the views except that the views were obliterated by all the smoke.

    I'm currently staying at the Red Apple Inn in Tonasket. If you're ever out this way, don't stay here. Chris, the owner, is friendly, and the sheets smell clean, but I can't vouch for the cleanliness of the carpet or certain corners of the bathroom floor. Still, it beats sleeping in a tent and breathing in smoke all night.

    It would seem that North America is on fire. I hope I make it home without damaging my lungs.
    Read more